One year of being back in Australia

I arrived home last year after another year abroad on the morning of 8 August 2014. The photo I posted on Instagram the day after was from a drive through the city; I was struck by the warmth of a Sydney winter’s day. Fast forward 12 months and I’m still struck by that same aspect of the weather here. On the weekend I hung out in different parts of the inner west, including a wander with a friend alongside the nearby Cooks River. A gorgeous Sunday afternoon. On the weekend I hung out in different parts of the inner west, including a wander with a friend alongside the nearby Cooks River. A gorgeous Sunday afternoon.

Cooks River, Marrickville
Cooks River, Marrickville

I’ve been lately reminiscing about those last few weeks of travel through Europe during the northern hemisphere summer and a week in Lebanon on the way home. It’s actually hard to believe that that was me doing all that, especially as I’ve gone through so many changes even since then. Among other things, over the past year I’ve lived in a few places, had a few jobs, started then stopped a PhD…it’s been (mentally) taxing, to say the least. But life has been more stable these past two months and I’m trying to stay the course. I have a feeling that lots of good things will come my way soon.

I promised myself that I wouldn’t leave the country for at least 12 months but I’m getting itchy feet again and keen to get out of Australia. So I’m very excited about our trip to Sri Lanka at the end of December.

Until then, I’m keeping the resolutions I formed last year when I visited Albury: to travel around Australia more and make a greater contribution to the country’s cultural life.

I have a stronger resolve now to spend a bit more time travelling around Australia, and I’ve been reminded that I need to spend a bit more time discovering its literary culture too. If I want to read the kind of work that reflects the country that I know, maybe I really do need to be one of its creators.

Somehow, right at this moment, I feel like the answers I’m looking for aren’t necessarily here at home after all and I have to turn my gaze outwards again. I look forward to seeing where my writing will take me over the next 12 months — metaphorically speaking anyway.

Leave a Reply

