Special guest stars

In my recent post about leaving Chiang Mai, I wrote that “I find myself yearning for the familiar faces of friends and family, and relationships that I know will continue”. But in fact, we have had an astonishing amount of visitors over the past seven months, as well as a number of meet-ups in various places around Asia. Nothing beats reconnecting with my nearest and dearest, and especially those who have come all the way here to visit us. It’s made me feel that my time here is a natural extension of everything that has happened before this point. I’m clearly not running away from something; it’s more that I’m running towards something — and bringing a lot of people on the journey.

Because I am generally so busy with hosting visitors at the time, I don’t get around to blogging about it much, but now that I have a moment I wanted to say a big fat THANK YOU to everyone who has come here. Looking forward to the couple more friends we have coming in the last few months before we run towards our next destination.

From Singapore, the Beavers came to Phuket (Aug '10). Next meet up in April!
From Singapore, the Beavers came to Phuket (Aug '10). Next meet up in April!
Sharon came for a visit on the way home to Ireland (Sep '10)
Sharon came for a visit on the way home to Ireland (Sep '10)
With my parents and youngest brother in Hong Kong (Oct '10)
With my parents and youngest brother in Hong Kong (Oct '10)
Having drinks with Iain and Ada all the way from London in Hong Kong. We made sure we booked tickets at the same time. (Oct '10)
Having drinks with Iain and Ada all the way from London in Hong Kong. We made sure we booked tickets at the same time. (Oct '10)
With Iris, who I first met at a conference in 2004 (Oct '10)
With Iris, who I first met at a conference in 2004 (Oct '10)

(Looking at all these photos of Hong Kong makes me realise that I never did get around to writing about my trip there. I’ll get to that later this week.)

My parents came back to Thailand where they cooked up a storm (Oct '10)
My parents came back to Thailand where they cooked up a storm (Oct '10)
Adam helped us light sky lanterns during Loi Krathong (Nov '10)
Adam helped us light sky lanterns during Loi Krathong (Nov '10)
Maryum (living in Cairo) stopped by during Yee Peng with new friend Jamie (Nov '10)
Maryum (living in Cairo) stopped by during Yee Peng with new friend Jamie (Nov '10)
Josh's mum and sister celebrated Christmas with us in Chiang Dao (Dec '10)
Josh's mum and sister celebrated Christmas with us in Chiang Dao (Dec '10)
Kel's boyfriend joined us after Christmas (Dec '10)
Kel's boyfriend joined us after Christmas (Dec '10)
Mike, who I have met up with in the most countries in the world, popped by at the start of the new year to get away from winter in Copenhagen (Jan '11)
Mike, who I have met up with in the most countries in the world, popped by at the start of the new year to get away from winter in Copenhagen (Jan '11)
Burmese dinner with Marc, one of my besties from home (Feb '11)
Burmese dinner with Marc, one of my besties from home (Feb '11)
Soph and Emm came from London and discovered a love of karaoke (Feb '11)
Soph and Emm came from London and discovered a love of karaoke (Feb '11)
Caroline, a family friend of Josh's, also came to town (Feb '11)
Caroline, a family friend of Josh's, also came to town (Feb '11)
We missed Wendy and Shane's wedding, but caught their honeymoon (Feb '11)
We missed Wendy and Shane's wedding, but caught their honeymoon (Feb '11)
Kimie, who I knew way back when, now lives in Bangkok (Feb '11)
Kimie, who I knew way back when, now lives in Bangkok (Feb '11)
Leave a Reply

