In Vietnam

I wrote a post on my blog yesterday about how I felt going to Vietnam and unfortunately it disappeared into the ether as soon as I published it. In short: I was a little anxious, stressed even. Plus frustrated about my hugely dysfunctional family not making it easy for me to look up family members. Plus excited that this was finally happening, as 2010 draws to a close. And now here I finally am. I made it, and in some ways I’m glad I’ve waited this long because I can draw upon so much of my own understanding of the world to make sense of this place.

Saigon/Ho Chi Minh City is an incredible place…chaotic, energetic, glitzy — what I’ve seen of it so far anyway. I’ve only been here for the past 4-5 hours but it’s really feeling like this is a place I need to be. The plans that I had been formulating for 2011 are starting to be turned on their head, as I consider other possibilities involving Vietnam.

We’re staying in District 1, so we are also in the most ‘touristy’ part in the centre of town.  My head is crowded with impressions and it will take time for me to digest it all and be able to write my impressions more clearly. I don’t know what I expected but somehow I’m caught by surprise that I feel so emotional; like somehow this really is a big deal, and that me being here goes way beyond any musings I have had in the past.

One thought on “In Vietnam

Leave a Reply

