The King’s 80th

Towards the end of last year I submitted a photo taken in Chiang Mai for publication in Blanket Magazine, a very cool online magazine dedicated to art, design and photography. The picture depicts lanterns hung in honour of the King’s 80th birthday in December 2007. This scene unfolded before me as I crossed from the darkness outside the walled part of the city, only to find a large and dusty open space ablaze with lanterns as far as the eye could see. The photo was published in the magazine’s December 2009 issue, and about two weeks after that I saw the job in Chiang Mai being advertised. And the rest, as they say, is history. Henceforth I will always think of my photo submission as a strangely prescient move, a foreshadowing of what was to come; where I crossed over the dark threshold of 2009 into the endless light of Chiang Mai in 2010.

One thought on “The King’s 80th

Leave a Reply

